Paroquet Springs Conference Centre View Interactive Brochure Photo/Video Galleries About Bullitt County Annual Events Attractions Jim Beam Tours Wine & Bourbon Tour Entertainment Itineraries Points of Interest Recreation Shopping Places Meeting Places Accommodations Dining Group Travel Area Links

From Parakeet Lick (1803) to Paroquet Springs Hotel (1836/37) to the Paroquet Springs Conference Centre (1998/99), the area one mile east of Shepherdsville and south of Highway 44 has undergone several metamorphoses within the past 196 years.

Regardless of the many changes, one common element has remained throughout time - the fact that this area has been, and still is, a gathering place for all walks of life.

In the beginning, animals would come from miles around to lick the salted earth around the area that had been flooded with saltwater.

When the settlers followed the animal trails for hunting, they discovered the numerous salt licks that would provide the precious commodity needed for the preservation of food.

The salt lick known as Parakeet Lick was named after the flock of colorful birds that often visited this area. The salt wells at Parkeet Lick contained a high mineral content of salt, iron, magnesia and sulfur, thus producing water that was considered both healthy and high in medicinal properties. The residents of Shepherdsville had found a treasure.

As time advanced, the medicinal properties of Parkeet Lick's was spread by word of mouth.

In 1838, John D. Colmisnil, having heard the stories, bought the property and developed it into one of the grandest spas in the South, the Paroquet Springs Hotel.

An elaborate resort boasting superior accommodations for 800 guests, a large ballroom, a gambling casino and race track, the Paroquet Springs Hotel remained one of the most fashionable and colorful places to vacation at during the season until 1879 when it was consumed by fire.

After 120 years, the Paroquet Springs area is again a gathering place for all walks of life.

From the Salt River Exposition Hall that provides 12,000 square feet of exhibition space to the elegant McDowell Ballroom with a seating capacity of approximately 200, Paroquet Springs is, once again, a truly fashionable place to meet.

Boasting pride in Bullitt County, each of the meeting rooms have been named after historically important individuals throughout the County's history.

At the new Paroquet Springs Conference Centre, people again have a colorful place to gather for business or pleasure.

For more historical and genealogical information, contact:

     Bullitt County Genealogical Society
     171 Anna Lee Drive
     Taylorsville, KY 40071

Contact: Betty R. Darnell
Phone: 502-422-0150
E-Mail: bettyd@elkcreek.net

     Family History Research
     171 Anna Lee Drive
     Taylorsville, KY 40071

Contact: Betty R. Darnell
Phone: 502-422-0150
E-Mail: bettyd@elkcreek.net


Get advice from real travelers for your Shepherdsville vacation.


Copyright © 1996-2014 by the
Shepherdsville/Bullitt County Tourist & Convention Commission
395 Paroquet Springs Drive
- Shepherdsville, Kentucky -
Phone: 502-543-8687 · 800-526-2068